Everything Inside: A Conversation with Edwidge Danticat

Wednesday, September 30th 7 p.m. via Crowdcast

About the Event

Personal, intimate, and brimming with wisdom, Edwidge Danticat’s collection, Everything Inside: Stories follows people on the brink of life-changing events: love is found in an unexpected place, a woman struggles to keep hope alive as she fights for her life, and a man struggles to confront his life’s choices as he is falling to his death. NPR calls Danticat’s latest collection “Immensely rewarding, clear-eyed, gorgeous. . . a stunning collection that features some of the best writing of Danticat’s brilliant career.” Her book has been named Best Book of 2019 by NPR, Buzzfeed, Time and Esquire, which has stated that “…her compassionate sensitivity to the ties that bind us shines through.” Danticat is the author of over eighteen books, spanning several genres and topics. She is a 2009 MacArthur fellow, and is the recipient of the 2018 Neustadt International Prize. Danticat will be in conversation with Christy Pichichero. Sponsored by George Mason’s Women and Gender Studies department.

Reserve Your Spot and Watch the Event

Edwidge Danticat

About Danticat

Edwidge Danticat is the author of several books, including Breath, Eyes, Memory, an Oprah’s Book Club selection, Krik? Krak!, a National Book Award finalist, and The Farming of Bones, an American Book Award winner, The Dew Breaker, Claire of the Sea Light, and Everything Inside, a National Book Critics Award Finalist. She is the editor of The Butterfly’s Way: Voices from the Haitian Diaspora in the United States,  Haiti Noir and Haiti Noir 2. She has written seven books for young adults and children, Anacaona, Behind the Mountains, Eight Days, The Last Mapou, Mama’s Nightingale, My Mommy Medicine, and Untwine, as well as a travel narrative, After the Dance, A Walk Through Carnival in Jacmel. Her memoir, Brother, I’m Dying, was a National Book Award finalist in 2007 and a National Book Critics Circle Award winner for autobiography.  Her book of essays, The Art of Death: Writing the Final Story was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism 2017. Her children’s book, My Mommy Medicine, was a Parents’ Choice Recommended Book.  Edwidge Danticat is a 2009 MacArthur Fellowand winner of the 2018 Neustadt Prize for Literature, and the 2019 St. Louis Literary Award. She is a two-time winner of The Story Prize, a 2020 United States Artist fellow, and winner of the 2020 Vilcek Prize for Literature.

Scroll to Top