Become a Friend of Fall for the Book

Delia Owens with Friends of the Festival at the 2019 Fall for the Book.
Delia Owens with Friends of the Festival at the 2019 Fall for the Book.

Big Changes for 2020

Fall for the Book’s mission has always been to connect writers and readers, and help illustrate how reading and writing can create empathy and connection with others. In a time with so much distance (socially, physically, and otherwise) between one another, this bridge is more important than ever. It’s why we decided to take the festival virtual this year — to continue bringing important conversations right to your fingertips. 

Going virtual brings a number of challenges that the Fall for the Book crew are ready to tackle. We’ve already hosted a few Trivia Night Fundraisers online, and look forward to all of our fall events, which will be spread out from September through November.

So what does this mean for the Friends of the Festival program? We’re working on rolling out a whole new slate of benefits for our generous donors and will update that below as soon as we can. In the meantime, we want to say a huge thank you to everyone who has already contributed and to those who are considering it. Your support means the world to us.


Kara Oakleaf, Festival Director & Suzy Rigdon, Festival Manager

Meet the rock stars of writing at Fall for the Book

Attend private receptions with the festival’s stars like Delia Owens, Colson Whitehead, Diane Rehm, Stephen King, Jodi Picoult, Dave Barry, Amy Tan, Richard Russo, Cheryl Strayed, Michael Chabon—all of whom we’ve hosted in the past. 

Friends of the Festival enjoy an array of special benefits, all while helping the festival keep doing the things it has been doing so well for so long. Your contribution helps us bring in participating out-of-town (and out-of-country) writers, enabling the festival to remain free of charge to more than 20,000 community members each year.

Benefits for Friends of the Festival:

Donate $50 and receive…
• Your name printed in the festival program* and on the website

• Emails about program updates, new authors and events

Donate $125 and receive all of the above, plus…
• One free ticket to your choice of a VIP author reception 

Donate $200 and receive all of the above, plus…
• An additional free ticket (for a total of two) to the VIP author reception of your choice

Donate $275 and receive all of the above, plus…
VIP seating at premiere author events

• Two additional free tickets (for a total of four) to your choice of VIP author receptions

Donate $350 or more and receive all of the above, plus…
• Two day-long parking passes for GMU Visitor Parking

Set up a recurring donation of $40 or more per month** using the box below and receive all of the above, plus…
Free copies of our headliners’ books and priority to get them signed at VIP receptions

*Donations must be received by August 9, 2020 for your name to be included in the 2020 festival program.

**9-month member minimum required. For fewer months subscribed, receive benefits for the level you’ve reached by the festival dates.

Friends get books signed by Stephen King, 2011

How can I join?

By mail:
Send your check payable to “Fall for the Book” to the address below:

Fall for the Book
George Mason University, MS 3E4
4400 University Drive Fairfax, VA 22030

Making your donation using the button below. Both the one-time and recurring donations are processed through PayPal. Recurring donations require a PayPal account.

For more information, contact us at 703.993.3986 or email

Become a Friend today!

Thank you, Friends!

2019 Friends of Fall for the Book list

Friends with Diana Gabaldon at the 2016 VIP Reception
Scroll to Top